You are here: What is the ANC awards?

Isitwalandwe / Seaparankoe the Highest Award of Honour

Isithwalandwe/Seaparankoe is the highest honour awarded by the ANC to those who have made an outstanding contribution and sacrifice to the liberation struggle. Isithwalandwe, literally translated, means "the one who wears the plumes of the rare bird" and was traditionally bestowed only on the bravest warriors of the people, on those who distinguished themselves in the eyes of all the people for exceptional qualities of leadership and heroism.

Chief Albert Luthuli, Dr Yusuf Dadoo and Father Trevor Huddleston were the first leaders to received Isithwalandwe / Seaparankoe, at the Congress of the People in 1955. The most recent recipient, in 2008, was Chris Hani.

Name Year
Albert Luthuli 1955
Father Trevor Huddleston 1955
Yusuf Dadoo 1955
Moses Mauane Kotane 1975
Govan Mbeki 1980
Bishop Ambrose Reeves 1980
Lilian Ngoyi 1982
Oliver Reginald Tambo 1992
Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela 1992
Walter Sisulu 1992
Helen Joseph 1992
Ahmed Kathrada 1992
Harry Gwala 1992
Elias Motsoaledi 1992
Andrew Mlangeni 1992
Raymond Mhlaba 1992
Wilton Mkwai 1992
Joe Slovo 1994
Ray Alexander Simons 2004
Chris Hani 2008

ANC Bokone-Bophiriam Mogolodi
ANC Manifesto
Download the ANC Manifesto
Download the ANC Manifesto Excecutive Summary
Download the ANC Manifesto Executive Summary-SETSWANA
Join the ANC
Download ANC Membership Application form
ANC Bokone-Bophiriam Media Portal


ANC Constitution
53rd National Conference Resolutions
Provincial PBF
ANC Leagues
Alliance Links
ANC Regional Offices
ANC Headquarters
Provincial Gorvenment
NW Provincial Legislature
ANC National Website